Satchmo Vet Update

Leave it to me to accidently adopt another dog. Let me first clarify by saying, I’d been wanting to adopt a big little brother for my corgi Toby for a few months. I’d casually been looking at local rescue websites but I hadn’t found that one that I thought would be the right fit.

About  2 months ago, my younger sister sent me a photo of two dogs telling me I had to come see them. Seriously, when I say that they are cute… it doesn’t even come close.

Satchmo

I loved the little black and white one and decided to go see him. I convinced my sister and brother-in-law to come with me. Bandit had already been adopted out but that was fine because Smokey had caught my eye in the picture. He was so quiet and sweet and lovable that I just had to fill out the application.

Here’s where the accident part comes in. In speaking with the woman, I learned that she knew my mom and my younger sister, who apparently made quite the impression on her. Before I knew it, she had walked over, spoken with my vet (which happened to be the location of the adoption event) and she asking how I would like to pay.

I completely panicked. My sister and brother-in-law had left and to do other shopping while my 10 year old niece stayed with me. Suddenly, I had a 4-5 month old puppy and a hyper 10 year old who could hardly contain her excitement at the thought of a new dog. What in the world was I thinking?!

In the end, adopting this little guy, which my brother-in-law renamed Satchmo, was a great decision. He’s so loveable and very smart, sometimes too smart for his own good. He has some health problems but he’s taking the medicine like a champ and doing better. After taking him to the vet, for a checkup, he was diagnosed with Giardia, which is an intestinal parasite common to dogs in shelters and Demodex, a type of mite that causes hair loss.

Over the past 2 months, this little guy has been a trooper. He has patch of baldness all over his body, had three vet appointments and takes medication every day. The Giardia is gone but the Demodex is still something he struggles with but we learned yesterday at the vet he’s doing better!

IMG_6089

Even with all of his health problems, I wouldn’t change anything about Satchmo. He’s a great companion for Toby, even if Toby isn’t loving the idea of sharing his mommy, and my niece and nephew love him.

IMG_6159

See you soon!

signature1

Leave a Reply

