Weekend Accomplishments

Last weekend I did something that I honestly never thought I’d do again. Growing up, my dad loved geocaching and hiking; just being outdoors in general. We spent a lot of weekends learning about GPS and finding “hidden treasure” geocaching. On the rare family vacation, we always found ourselves doing some kind of exploring. One of those things was spelunking, or caving.

My sisters and I had tons of fun, even if we were a little scared. I remember once they shut off all the lights to show how dark and scary it must have been for explorers who discovered the cave and I was freaked. I couldn’t even see my hand. I was always fascinated by the ability and bravery of early explorers and miners so go into such creepy places. As we got older, we had less time to do such things but always had fun memories of those family vacations, even if we didn’t appreciate them at the time.

Over the weekend, my sister and I, along with her family, went spelunking again. I have to say, it was so fun!! I was a little concerned at first because after a weekend of shopping, my ankle hurt so bad that I had to wear my walking boot. I figured, if I fell I’d at least have a good story about what happened. Right? It was touch and go a few times but I made it through the 30 minute cave exploring tour and even walked up and down some questionable, wet stairs. My 11-year-old niece was so amazed that I was able to do it; she kept saying “You can do it TeeTee!”. I’m glad I did it and proud I was able to complete such an adventure without any mishaps.

Early in my diagnosis, I’d let my arthritis and physical limitations keep me from doing things. I didn’t think I could so there was no use in trying and then being disappointed. But now 15 years into this journey, I’ve grown a lot and refuse to let my body keep me from trying. It’s never easy and sometimes very painful but it’s always worth it in the end. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the foresight to take photos but i still wanted to share. Remember:

“Nothing holds you back more than your own insecurities.” anonymous

Oh! And I also got to pet a baby kangaroo. His name is Erwin.


What did you do this weekend? Tell me in the comments!

signature1

Leave a Reply

