Workin’ On My Fitness

dear fat

I’m headed back to the gym! At the beginning of the year I went to the gym three to four times a week for almost an hour and I was really seeing results and I had tons of energy. Then things got crazy, work got stressful and I stopped going…big mistake! While I hate the early mornings, I love having more energy throughout the day and sleeping better at night. And, I feel like my arthritis doesn’t flare up as much when I’m regularly working out (maybe true, maybe false but it’s my reality so don’t burst my bubble…please).

I have this tendency to get really excited about something, go overboard and then never actually accomplish the task, so I’m starting small. Here are my goals for July:

  • 20 to 30 minutes on the elliptical twice a week
  • A long walk with the puppies at least once a week
  • Use My Fitness Pal to track my food and exercise (seriously love this app; it keeps me accountable for my food choices)
  • Band and stretching exercise at home four times a week (help with my replaced joints to keep mobility)
  • Drink more water!

Doesn’t seem to overwhelming right? Seriously it’s not too much is it? Oh well, now that I’ve posted it out for the internet world to see, I kind of have to stay on track. Luckily, I’ve roped my older sister into doing this with me so I’ll have her to keep me accountable as well (and we all know older sisters will call you out for anything, right?). Healthy Tanya, here I come!

How do you get exercise? What works for you? Tell me in the comments.

signature1

3 thoughts on “Workin’ On My Fitness

  1. I’m a big fan of yoga. I’ve just started so there will be zero pictures of me doing handstands on the beach in my yoga pants and sports bra, but I really do enjoy it. It’s super low impact, and you can modify any of the moves to suit your needs. I’m really enjoying it so far. I don’t really feel like I’m getting a workout until the day AFTER yoga… I can barely bend over to sit in my chair. OUCH!!! So I think it’s doing something! If you want to mix your routine up a bit you should give it a try?

    Like

      • Personally, I find restorative yoga the easiest. So then maybe Yin. So start with one of those two. If you are still pretty mobile and can bend and walk easily I’d start with Yin. I fell asleep twice at restorative… lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

