Things Only Someone with RA Would Understand

Let’s be honest. Arthritis sucks. It just does. Anyone who tells you differently is lying to your face! Over the years, I’ve learned to find the humor in my disease. I mean really, how can you not laugh and be excited about hip replacements squeaking when they need to be revised? Personally, I cannot wait for this moment in my life. How hilarious is it going to be to squeak when I walk?!

But seriously, everyone has heard that ‘laughter is the best medicine’. I used to think that was such a ridiculous quote because for a while, it didn’t matter how much I laughed, my body still hurt! And I needed those meds! But, as I’ve gotten older I’ve come to realize that maybe the quote should be, ‘humor is the best medicine’. The ability to find humor in situations really will make life with chronic pain a little more bearable.

During a recent trip into the black hole that is Pinterest, I came across an articled titled 29 Things Only Someone With Rheumatoid Arthritis Would Understand. I laughed through the whole thing. I applaud the author of the article for hitting the nail on the head. I’ve thought these things too many times to count. I wanted to share a few of my favorites because they are 100% completely true. Enjoy!

You know that MTX SubQ isn’t the name of a rapper.

RA Rapper

You’re a self-taught expert in “fighting with the insurance company” law.

Insurance RA

Doesn’t everyone keep injectable medications between the milk and the eggs?

fridge RA

Steep stairs with no railings are an invention of the devil.

RA Stairs

Confirmed plans aren’t really confirmed unless it’s a rheumatologist appointment. Those are set in concrete.

plans RA

You’re doctor asks what hurts and you sing “Head, Shoulder, Knees and Toes” to answer.

head shoulders knees and toes

Leave me a comment about which was your favorite. Have a great rest of your week!

cropped-sincerelytanyablog.png

 

 

 

One thought on “Things Only Someone with RA Would Understand

Leave a Reply

