5 Things To Do More Often

Adulting is hard! Bills. Jobs. Family. Friends. Housework. Bills. Who knew there was so much responsibility being an adult? Why didn’t anyone ever tell us?! Instead of learning about the quadratic equation, which I have never used in my adult life by the way, why wasn’t there a class on how to balance adult responsibilities with the little things in life?

From a reformed workaholic, I can tell you from experience that it’s so easy to get wrapped up in work  and forget about the small things that are really important. But learning to balance my work life and responsibilities with my personal life keeps me in a better place. Balance not only keeps me physically heathy but also mentally healthy. I’ve come up with five things that I need/want to do more often to keep the peace in my life.

Keep in Touch with Old Friends

Some of the greatest friendships I’ve had came from high school and college. I went to college out of state and then moved out of state a few years after college. It’s difficult to keep in touch because everyone is busy. My best friends live in Las Vegas and Los Angeles so the time difference alone is a big barrier. But, since reuniting in December for a wedding, I’ve tried to be more consistent with keeping in touch. Social media makes it easier but there is nothing like good old phone conversations or FaceTime.

Get Fresh Air

Having grown up in Montana, I have an affinity for being outdoors. I’m not necessarily a camping and hiking kind of person, but I find being outside in the wide open spaces to be very relaxing. Taking a walk or just sitting outside calms my mind and reminds me of a simpler time growing up in a small town with few responsibilities.

Slow Down

Nowadays, everyone is so incredibly busy with jobs, family, friends and volunteer work that we don’t take the time to slow down and enjoy life. Prior to becoming a preschool teacher, my job was incredibly demanding and I spent a lot of time at home, catching up on paperwork that I didn’t have time to do at the office. I burned out very easily and was incredibly unhappy. By switching careers, though a difficult decision, was the best thing I’ve done for myself.

Take More Photos

Part of slowing down is enjoying life more and making memories with those we love. I always plan to take photos of outings with friends and family but get wrapped up in what we’re doing and then regret that I didn’t get a photo of that hilarious moment of the night. I’ve been trying to make an effort to take a few snapshots, even if only with my iPhone, to remember the important, fun memories.

Me Time

More often than not, I spend time doing work related things or helping out friends and family, which I love doing, but I forget that it’s just as important to do things for myself. Not only do I need to remember to take time to relax for mental health reasons, but also for physical reasons. If I do too much, my arthritis is nice enough to remind me that I need to slow down and take care of myself.

What things do you want/need to do more often? Leave me a comment below.

cropped-sincerelytanyablog.png

 

3 thoughts on “5 Things To Do More Often

  1. I find it difficult to manage my “free” time. I don’t ever just sit and relax. I need to work on that. Every spare second is absorbed by something. I do take me time, but I mean like the one hour break between tasks… I like to rush things into that space… I need to learn to just sit and be.

    Like

    • I have the same problem. I sometimes go days even weeks without taking time for myself. I’m really trying to take more time to do things for myself. I feel like these days, everyone struggles with this. Lol. We’re all so busy all the time it feels weird to be stationary.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I always fit a quick loaf or batch of cookies into those free hours. But then I’m stuck with two sinks full with dishes that I can’t ever find the time to clean. I really do it to myself.. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

